Ego refers to itself as “I”. It is the person at the center of your world that experiences itself and life from a subjective perspective. The root of the ego is “mine”, it is your ego that is identified with your body, gender, race, nationality, talents, thoughts and emotions. Your family is your ego’s family. When you say “I”, you are referring to your subjective identity, with a given name.

Establishment of the Ego

Your ego is firmly established in you during your formative years, and you are considered socialised by the time you reach the age of 21, when you are declared an adult. In ancient times a noble lad would be knighted at the age of 21. During the first seven years the focus of the ego is on the establishment of its physical identity, the next seven years its sexual identity is established and during the age of 14 to 21 years the social identity of your ego is established.

Those who seek should not stop seeking until they find. When they find, they will be disturbed. When they are disturbed, they will marvel, and they will rule over all.

Central to the insights of Sigmund Freud was the idea that your ego’s personality consists of autonomous agents that act on your behalf. That you are not one, but many. These agents can be called the personas of the ego.

We like to think that we are in control, but then something in us does the opposite. You decide to stop smoking, but then something stressful happens and you are smoking again or you are having a bad hangover and decide to never drink again, but then the weekend comes around, and you have a drink in your hand. Have you experienced this?

Carl Jung, who worked closely with Freud, after studying many ancient texts, came up with twelve archetypes for personality who derive from the collective unconscious. He proposed that these archetypes direct conscious behaviour but his archetypes eluded systematic study and were regarded as unfathomable. The truth is that in the west, these archetypes can be trailed back to the astrology of the Sumerian period, 3rd millennium DC, in Egypt and in the east the archetypes were taught as far back as the age of gemini, 5th millennium BC.

Tjaart has used the basis of the ancient vedas and astrology to offer a more comprehensive understanding of our personality types and more importantly how each of these archetypes influence how we thing, what we feel and the action we take in the world. 

Through self mastery one can move beyond pain and suffering into a space of abundance. 

From birth we are conditioned to think a certain way and behave a certain way and in this process our archetypes are in imbalance because some become more dominant than others. Watch the video on more insights to this conditioning. 

Play Video

When you can master your own self, no outside influence can affect your state of being or take away your happiness. Self Acceptance and Self Awareness allows you to see everything exactly as it is including the actions of others. You start understanding people a lot deeper and hence connecting to people on a different level of being. Both your inside world and that reflected on the outside changes and aligns to serve your deepest desires guiding you towards your highest purpose.

Life becomes easier and things happen with ease. 

What is in your assessment profile

Benefits of Signing up

error: Content is protected !!



Explore our free content and courses. 

Open chat